2 Comments

Keeping up with the Jones’s is wearing me out!!

Did you ever wonder who these “Joneses” are? There is an actual answer to that! Keeping Up with the Joneses is actually a comic strip from the New York Globe that was popular nearly one-hundred years ago. It was never intended to be the building blocks for anyone’s budget – or debt.

So often we struggle to have all the trappings our friends and neighbors have, but at what cost? My neighbor has a really cool car- along with a $650 a month car payment. My friend has an iPhone – and paid an “Apple” price for it. I can spend all day listing nice things others have that I don’t.  

I used to drive through opulent neighborhoods thinking about how “rich” the occupants are – how lucky they must be. Now I keep my perspective. These beautiful properties carry with them great responsibilities to purchase and maintain and the people work to make sure the properties are beautiful and paid for.  

The new horizon for many of us is to learn to appreciate the wealth within – in our relationships, having access to clean food and water; even the fact that we have indoor running water and plumbing. Even kings did not have those options in the not so distant past.

There is nothing wrong with improving your standard of living so long as we keep it in perspective. Is it worth going so deeply in debt just to keep up with others? Look around, it may be that you make other’s lives rich by the wealth within you!  

Just curious, how much money does one have to pay to finally keep up with “the Jones’s?” I’m not sure I could ever come up with an amount – but I bet winning the lottery would just about cover it! 😉

Spend time with your family. It doesn’t cost much. Follow us on twitter @cccsofcentralok #coolwalletwarmheart

 

Anthony Murray is an NFCC Certified Consumer Credit Counselor and Bankruptcy Services Coordinator at Consumer Credit Counseling Service of Central Oklahoma.  CCCS is a non-profit Credit Counseling agency with offices in Oklahoma City, Bethany, Enid, Stillwater and Tinker Air Force Base. Contact us at http://www.cccsok.org or 1-800-364-2227

2 comments on “Keeping up with the Jones’s is wearing me out!!

  1. I got tired of keeping up with myself. Debt free is true freedom.

Leave a Reply

