Leave a comment

Wait, my technology addiction is going to cost me HOW MUCH of my budget??

I am going to start by just admitting that I have never been the first person to jump on the technology bandwagon. I finally got a “smart” phone a year ago. Here is a secret… My dumb phone was smarter.

Just ask all the people I text about all the “corrected” spelling. My phone will actually change “Why” to “Whys”. Really… Did I miss the memo saying that was proper English…or even a real word!!

Forgive me…I digress.

I was given a webcam for Christmas. This was a good AND bad. The good part is now I can see that when I am talking to my girlfriend she is watching TV. Bad part is she can see I am on Facebook when she is talking.

Skype is awesome unless you want to talk to more than one person at a time. Then the cost of your technology goes up!! Here is what I learned last night. Free Skype is VERY limited. My buddies and I could not be on at the SAME time unless I am willing to pay almost $10 a month.

So how can you avoid paying $120 a year?

Google+!! It is free and easy to use once you get the hang of it. Video quality wasn’t too bad either.

Now there is a point to all this… When the cost of staying connected begins to nickel and dime you find alternative solutions. They are out there but you just have to look. I (CCCS) am not endorsing Google+. We are just showing that there was a cost free alternative.

If you have any solutions or alternatives to making technology more budget friendly, please share. But, please keep it legal. I am not piggybacking off of my neighbor’s WIFI signal. He named his network “Casanova”. I’ve seen my neighbor. Hey, a guy can dream, right?

Send in your suggestions and I will share…

Have a great weekend!!     

Anthony Murray is an NFCC Certified Consumer Credit Counselor and Bankruptcy Services Coordinator at Consumer Credit Counseling Service of Central Oklahoma.  CCCS is a non-profit Credit Counseling agency with offices in Oklahoma City, Bethany, Enid, Stillwater and Tinker Air Force Base. Contact us at http://www.cccsok.org or 1-800-364-2227

Leave a Reply

