Leave a comment

I dropped my breakfast on my shirt. Call “Dirty Jobs”!!

Hello world. Welcome to my Friday…

So yesterday I read an article that caused a fair amount of discussion in our office. It dealt with some of the problems that come with being poor from a really negative perspective. On one hand, I can understand the negative viewpoint. You know that old saying about money does not buy happiness? Well being broke doesn’t exactly buy it either!!

Before we begin, let’s throw out the idea that we are poor. I mean what does “poor” really mean? It is subjective. Without understating the very real issues that poverty brings, I am going to focus on the ability we all posses to change the circumstances and situation in which life finds us. I

Horse sh*!

Image by lippert61 via Flickr

n my book that is what makes people like you and me great!!

The article identified some jobs being “bad jobs”. I didn’t agree with that. Please allow me to share my opinion of jobs. If you are doing a Dirty Job, call Mike Rowe otherwise they are an investment towards the future!! I have had many jobs and some were better than others but they were ALL investments in my future.

I had to invest my time and my sweat and in return I received a positive return on my investment in the form of promotions, raises, character and skills.

I once worked for a grocery store. I was hired as a sacker. I was a pretty good sacker but my biggest attribute was my willingness to do any job…No matter how “bad” it was. I swept floors, worked on the Christmas tree lot during winter, smoked ribs during summer and dumped trash when asked. My willingness paid off. In 5 years I went from a sacker to the front end manager.

My pay tripled during the time I was there. THAT my friend is called making an investment in my own future. Every person has the ability to make the same investment in themselves.

It’s hard to compare your own struggles to the struggles – or seemingly lack of struggles – that others face. You were only given one life to live: yours. As someone who has worked hard, had pride in my achievements on the job and in my character, let me encourage you to LIVE the life you have been given. Whether you are sweeping streets, answering phones, driving a cab or keeping a house – do a job that is worth you. Your reward will come.

Never be too proud to do a job. Those that matter will see it and reward YOUR investment…

 Anthony Murray is an NFCC Certified Consumer Credit Counselor and Bankruptcy Services Coordinator at Consumer Credit Counseling Service of Central Oklahoma.  CCCS is a non-profit Credit Counseling agency with offices in Oklahoma City, Bethany, Enid, Stillwater and Tinker Air Force Base. Contact us at http://www.cccsok.org or 1-800-364-2227

 

 

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a Reply

