4 Comments

Hungry in Oklahoma

ALIVE Food Bank Distribution

Image by Bread for the World via Flickr

I tend to joke a lot with these blogs because life is too short to be SO serious. But today this is a serious issue…

People, we have children going hungry in this country. Oklahoma is listed as the 4th hungriest state in the US. 1 out of 5 school kids is at risk of going to bed hungry tonight according to http://www.hungerinoklahoma.org. That makes me cry and mad…

What is a family to do when they are faced with having to decide between paying the rent, putting gas in the car or food on the table? What would you do? This is a subject that is close to my heart because my Mom had to make these decisions when I was a kid.

She did the best she could but we ate way more peanut butter because it was cheap than any child should. If not for that, we would have been part of those statistics.

No matter what side of the have and have not fence you are on you have to agree our children are out future and our legacy.

Be it at the polls or with our dollars, make your voice heard! Make it count for the Mom that can’t feed her kids because she has to pay an ever increasing gasoline bill. A tank of gasoline costs me $24.00 more than this time last year. For some families that is the difference between supper and starvation… You make the choice. What is important to you??

If you can do it, visit the Regional Food Bank or Oklahoma.  http://www.regionalfoodbank.org

Make a donation and make a difference. For every $1 donated, the Regional Food Bank provides seven meals. It is time for Oklahomans to stand up and be heard…Loud and clear!!

If you are in a situation where you are struggling to put food on the table please be aware the United Way has services available to help. Call 211 in Central Oklahoma and tell them what you need. This is the greatest state in the greatest country… Our future should never go hungry…

Anthony Murray is an NFCC Certified Consumer Credit Counselor and Bankruptcy Services Coordinator at Consumer Credit Counseling Service of Central Oklahoma.  CCCS is a non-profit Credit Counseling agency with offices in Oklahoma City, Bethany, Enid, Stillwater and Tinker Air Force Base. Contact us at http://www.cccsok.org or 1-800-364-2227

Enhanced by Zemanta
4 comments on “Hungry in Oklahoma

  1. Thank you so much for adding your voice to raise awareness of this very real issue. Most people do not even know there ARE food banks in their towns and cities. I didn’t until recently.

    Most Americans like to imagine they are “middle class” – even when they aren’t. My parents did. My Father was a lifer in the Air Force, but we qualified for food stamps. He wouldn’t take them though.

    I worked in the school cafeteria throughout high school because I liked to eat. When I started college I had fifty cents a day to eat lunch on – and I earned that myself. (Fortunately Jack-in-the-Box had $0.49 hamburgers back then and I could find a few pennies to cover the tax.) My college sweetheart had a shoe-in – he bought us lunch every day. First time I had as much as I wanted to eat.

    Even among families that have food they often have too little. A typical dinner when I was growing up was 1.0-1.5 lbs of hamburger made into meatloaf with crackers or oatmeal as an extender, one can of vegetables and a can of biscuits. That had to feed seven people even including four teenagers. Every day I wished for one more tablespoon of vegetables and still love vegetables today. I loved making real mashed potatoes because I could eat as much as I wanted.

    Food from a food bank can mean the difference between a little hungry every day and enough to eat. For many it means the difference between going hungry – sometimes for days – when the money runs out before the next check comes. If everyone gave only a tiny amount there would be no hungry people.

    If we give a little more children will not go without nutrients they must have to be healthy. I gave my little sister half a grass-fed beef I raised, but then had to insist she feed her children meat at least once a day because they were young and growing and they didn’t have fresh fruits and vegetables which would have been even healthier. I guess she was so used to having so little to eat she didn’t realize how important it was.

    Tons of Americans don’t know what enough food even is – much less healthy food. We all need to stop this insane consumerism and focus on what is TRULY important.

    • Thank you so much for your response. You are right, It just takes each person that can give to just give a little. We are not asking people to give up their way of life or change anything. If each person bought a couple extra items we could make this a non-issue!!
      Thanks again and have a great day!! God bless…

      Anthony Murray

  2. […] Hungry in Oklahoma (cccsofcentraloklahoma.wordpress.com) […]

  3. […] Hungry in Oklahoma (cccsofcentraloklahoma.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

